The Pretenders Announce New LP ‘Relentless,’ Share First Single “Let The Sun Come In”

New Wave/punk veterans, The Pretenders, have announced the September 1 release of their 12th studio album, Relentless. The full-length LP captures this iteration of the ensemble presenting 12 new tracks, including “Let the Sun Come In,” which serves as today’s preview of the forthcoming batch. The newly announced collection comes after The Pretenders’ previously dropped 2020 LP Hate For Sale. Their follow-up, Relentless, was recorded at Battery Studios in West London and produced with the help of David Wrench, whose credits include working alongside David Byrne, Frank Ocean and more. Watch Here:

The album features The Pretenders collective, Carwyn Ellis (keyboard, guitar), Kris Sonne (drums), Chris Hill (double bass) and Dave Page (bass) alongside original member Christine Hynde and lead guitarist James Walbourne, who composed the new material on the LP remotely. In addition to the aforementioned lineup, Relentless includes a guest appearance by Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood, who added strings to the LP’s sendoff, “I Think About You Daily.”Pertaining to the recording process, Hydne offered, “We had developed this method of working remotely and it seemed like we just kept on doing it for this album. This is something that we’ve honed down to an art in the last few years. He always comes up with something I wouldn’t have thought of myself and I love surprises.”Listen to The Pretenders’ single “Let The Sun Come In” now. Pre-order Relentless here.